Life’s Too Short

I had an interesting conversation a few days ago with a dear and ‘old’ friend of mine about how short this life really is. Sorry mate, but whichever way you look at it you are now officially old!!!

Yes yes I know, so am I.

Moving on swiftly.

Having agreed on the fact that this life is indeed short, he pointed out the importance of trying one’s very best to enjoy each and every day.

Whilst I fully agree with him I can’t help thinking that it’s such an unfortunate shame that in reality we spend most days worrying about everything and anything; from our bank account balance, to our health, to kids’ school fees, to that transaction, to what’s going to happen tomorrow, the day after tomorrow, next year and the year after that!!!

Are we ever truly at peace???

In reality life is actually not short at all, but in-fact eternal. Our spirit, which is what makes each and every one of us radiate, does not die.

We are merely in a temporary shell (the body) in order to fulfill whatever task we have to achieve on this place called earth, before proceeding to our real home – heaven.

The truth is that our lives are not in the least bit short.

But I digress. That’s not the focus of this message at all. Good heavens, I really do wonder off track sometimes! Sorry.

Today’s message is about the importance of seizing and enjoying each day.

Let’s begin from the surest foundation of all.

“Now thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ,..”
2nd Corinthians 2 vs 14

How come we read these verses, or at least hear them read to us at church but then spend most of our days worrying about so many things?

What are the things we worry about?

Whether or not we will make it to heaven – whether that recent sin / mistake will make us ineligible for a seat in heaven, the rent, the mortgage, school fees, all manner of bills, cash flow, sickness, death, finding a wife, finding a husband, and so many other things that I dread to think.

Let’s start with Heaven.

“Christ suffered for our sins once for all time. He never sinned, but he died for sinners to bring you safely home to God.”
1st Peter 3 vs 18

I guess this isn’t something we need to worry about then.

Christ died once and for all for every sin we will ever commit on this earth – from the day we arrived until the day we depart for our next destination.

This means that we do not have to earn God’s love.

We do not have to earn our place in heaven.

Christ has already done all the work for us.

So at least that’s one less thing we have to worry about.

We can stop fretting about whether or not God has forgiven us.

No more doubts about whether or not He loves us.

He does. Full stop.

“These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace.
In the world you will have tribulations; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”
John 16 vs 33

I sometimes wish that a disclaimer had been inserted in the bible – reading something like this;

“The Kingdom of heaven wishes to point out that giving your life to Christ, reading your bible, going to church, and praying is not a formula for a stress free and painless life”.

The mistake we all tend to make is to believe that because we have Christ we will have no problems.

That, my friends is utter balderdash.

Christ himself said that we will have tribulations in this world.

In other words there will be sad times; there will be difficult moments; there will even be moments of pure and unadulterated anguish.

But Christ assures us that through Him we will have peace.

Through Him we will get through whatever the world throws our way.

There is a crucial fact that we need to bear in mind about life’s challenging moments.

They are but moments.

Even though it feels as though the pain will never go away, it will eventually.

No phase or period lasts forever. There will be good times and there will be bad times. It is during those bad or challenging times that we are able to mature the most.

But it all depends on our attitude.

Do we wallow in self pity (and I say that without any kind of judgment or insensitivity – after all we all love to indulge in a little self pity from time to time)? Or determine to move forward with all our hearts, all your minds and all our strength?!!

The battlefield is in the mind.

One of satan’s greatest ploys is to fill minds with so much worry, anxiety, stress, anger, bitterness, sorrow, and so many other negative and unhealthy thoughts, that we are unable to focus on the things of God – “love God with all your heart, and love your neighbour likewise.”

As soon as we enter the vicious cycle of worry and anxiety we become like rabbits in bright lights; quite literally frozen still by our focus on all the things that are wrong, and all those other things that can go wrong.

My question to you is this?

Does the worrying and the anxiety actually accomplish anything????

By the way, this message is as much for me (if not more so) as it is for anybody else.

I remember waking up on a Saturday morning many many years ago feeling so happy and at peace with life. Everything was going so smoothly. I’d just started a new business. We had clients. There was money in the account, and I was looking forward to going to play with my godson in Richmond.

Life was bliss.

But for some reason I didn’t feel comfortable.

Yes, life was good and I had real peace of mind. But I couldn’t help thinking that surely there was something that I should be worrying about. Surely there was something that wasn’t right – some problem that I’d obviously forgotten about.

Not satisfied with my moment of peace and contentment, I proceeded to do a mental search for problems – real or otherwise.

As I’m sure you know, if one is intent on finding something to worry about it is fairly likely that one will succeed.

So I unwittingly proceeded to ensure that my peace of mind was short lived!!

We are all supposed to learn from every single situation and experience that we go through; to strengthen us for what lies ahead – be-it our purpose / career, or role as a mother / father / husband / wife / bother / sister / friend.

I always advise people to never assume that anything is mundane, or a waste of time. There is always something to be learnt from whatever it is one is doing in life – whether one likes it or not.

After completing my finals for my first degree, just one glance at my bank balance was enough to tell me that I had to get a summer job.

Dad had already made it very clear to me at the start of my final term that the days of him funding my summer excesses were most definitely over.

So there would be no partying across Europe for me that summer.

Instead I had to get a job. Torture!!!

I was due to start my Masters in October so I wasn’t too fussed about what kind of job I got, as I knew that it would only be for a few months.

Can you remember those involuntary summer holiday jobs???

I got a job as an assistant in the suits department of a shop called Mr. Byrite.

I detested the place, and I detested every single second of which I spent there.
But I also decided that I would try and become the best sales person in the store.

Due to constantly having to engage and interact with customers, I developed an understanding of the human psyche; an understanding of how to build rapport quickly; an understanding of sales.

This came in very handy later in life, and still is to this day.
There is no situation that is a waste of time.

It all depends on your attitude.

You can decide to moan all day; or you can decide that you want to make the most of it and develop the necessary skills that will help you achieve your goals.

It’s fairly likely that what you learn and develop in that ‘mundane’ job that you hate so much will come in quite handy later in life.

Please note – I’m not saying you should stay there forever.

I am saying that you should make the most of it; rather than view it as a hopeless waste of time.

Let’s encourage each other to worry less.

Let’s encourage each other to enjoy each day.

Yes -do those things you enjoy doing – without guilt.

God doesn’t want or expect us to flee from fun.

Have fun with your girlfriend!

Have fun with your boyfriend!

Have fun with you wife!

Have fun with your husband!

Have fun with your partner!

Enjoy your children!

Enjoy your brothers and sisters!

Enjoy your friends!

Life is just too short!!!

Well, actually it isn’t. But you know what I mean.

Have a great weekend.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Life’s Too Short

  1. Anonymous says:

    I consider writing to be an art form. When I find a writer that can write quality content like this, I am amazed and delighted.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Great Article! I have been searching for this tonight and sooo want to get an email or even the updates about this article. Keep in touch!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Hallo. I find this post and i like your post! Good post !? Have you more posts or other, post. Please send me? I like it!

Leave a Reply

