Life Spring

I informed you all many weeks ago about my intention to hold a Divorce seminar in Lagos.

On Saturday, 15th September, the seminar was held at Ocean View.

The seminar was scheduled to begin at 10am.

As I sat in the hall at 10.05am, still waiting for the first guests to arrive, I couldn’t help but wonder whether I had made a huge mistake. Not for the first time I asked myself, “Segs, why on earth are you doing this? Is it really worth it? Are you sure it was God’s voice you heard?”

Suffice to say, people did come.

It was a small gathering – about 10 people, but in hind-sight I think a small group was probably best.

What went on during the seminar is very private, so don’t expect me to divulge. Sorry.

However I will say this. There are many people that are suffering in silence in this town.

We need to get away from this false stoicism of suffering in silence – dying in silence.

What makes this awful mindset so much more infuriating is that it goes against the very nature of God’s word; the very nature of Christ’s church – the body of Christ.

Time and time again Jesus tells us that He came to heal the sick.

Time and time again He tells us to seek counsel and advice.

So where did we get this false concept of ‘keep it to yourself from?????’

The only thing I will say about Saturday’s seminar is this; at one point someone said “the body of Christ is supposed to be a body that loves; a body that supports; a body that encourages; a body that heals. This seminar, what we are doing now, is real church.”

We all go to church in our fine cars and our fine attire, making the finest appearances – to do what? Pray to God for more fine cars and even finer attires?
Yet so many of us are suffering inside.

So many of us are merely keeping up appearances!

Are we that much different to the Pharisees and the Sadducees???

I am not criticising anybody in particular here.
Nope. Not at all.
I am criticising ALL of us!! Myself included.

Let’s stop these ‘shows’ that we put on every Sunday and get down to some real church – loving each other, supporting one another, encouraging one another, helping one another to heal.

Church is not a building we go to every Sunday.

Church is not something we do once a week.

Church is everyday – love, service to one another, togetherness, kindness, selflessness and healing.

I’ve said it before and I’ll continue saying it. The real revival that God is looking for is LOVE.

Yes – L. O. V. E

He is not looking for a people whose only interest is speaking in tongues in their search for monumental blessings and miracles.

“If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophesy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.”

1st Corinthians 13 vs 1 – 3

For those of you who attended the seminar I want to thank you for your encouragement.

Remember what I told you – You are the ones that were supposed to attend – and there’s a particular reason for that.

For those that wanted to come but were hesitant and decided not to, due to what society might think of them, I want you to know that I fully understand and sympathise with your fears.

We live in a society that is so judgmental; so slanderous, and yet so hypocritical (trust me – I have no doubt that many are slandering me right now – lol).

But I’ve decided that when God directs me to do something I will do it. Without fearing what people may say about my past or present.

Next time you hear someone slandering another person I want you to ask him / her this simple question.

“Are you perfect and without any sin at all??? Oh – and by the way God says that if you claim that you are without sin then you’re a liar. So what say you?”

Do not fear.

Trust that when you seek God’s kingdom, all other things will follow. Our maker wants us to heal. He wants the very best for us. Don’t allow the fear of what a human being can say about you prevent you from receiving God’s healing.

Divorce is NOT the end.

It is an opportunity to finally get things right.

It is an opportunity to receive God’s healing, so that you can be whole; so that you can be the person that God created you to be.

It is an opportunity to spring back to life – Life Spring.

So – yes, go against society’s norms.

Let’s be honest with ourselves here. Baring in mind the state of many marriages today, where exactly has society’s norms got us thus far?????

The only way to make a change is to start doing things differently.

The definition of a mad person is someone that continues to do the same thing over and over again and keeps expecting different results!!!

Let’s start doing things differently – with love and service to one another.

The true revival that God is so desperately craving for is the one of ‘LOVE’.

Let’s make a decision today to create a nation of unconditional love for one another; a nation in which we are all our brother’s keeper.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

