An Opportunity

Just a brief one today.

Don’t be so jubilant!!

Besides, you never know, it may turn out to be a long one.

After-all there have been many occasions when I intended to write short articles but ended up writing long ones.

So be warned! But you should be safe – I think – just.

The recent flooding of towns and villages in various states across the country is an untimely and grave tragedy.

I cannot even begin to imagine the devastation that has been caused in the affected regions – death, injuries, housing, health, infrastructure, the local economy, and so much more.

I must confess that it has taken me way too long to recognise the need to help in whatever way I can.

This is despite the fact that I have received so many bbm messages about it.

Unfortunately I was a little too engrossed in my own little world of worries and anxieties.

“Where’s all that selfless love you’ve being preaching about Segs???”

But this is not a light hearted piece so I’ll move on swiftly.

We have an opportunity to activate that love that has always dwelt inside of us; that unconditional love that has been crying out to be released from those shackles of personal concerns, personal worries and personal issues.

There are times when we get so consumed by our personal worries, concerns and grief, that we literally believe that we are the only one suffering; that the whole world is against us; that nobody cares; that God doesn’t care; that God doesn’t even love us.

Trust me, I know what I’m talking about.

I experienced this just a few days ago.

In-fact, a couple of dear friends of mine will tell you if you asked them that Segs enjoyed at least six to seven hours of an impromptu but none the less bullish self pity party on Sunday afternoon. Lol

So we’ve all been there.

But for once I’m going to steer my focus away from my own personal anxieties and worries.

I’m asking you to join me today in thinking not about ‘self’ but about those who are in devastatingly difficult situations as a result of the recent flooding.

Let’s take a one day return trip out of our personal kingdoms today and do something for the victims of the flood.

Anything!!!

No matter how small or seemingly insignificant – just do something!

Give money

Give clothes

Give food

Pray

Fast

Just do something!

Anything!!

Not because God will bless you, but because you are a loving person (which we all are deep down).

For just one day, allow that unconditional love that dwells inside you to roam freely.

This is an opportunity for us all to focus not on ‘self’ but on others.

No matter how bad you think your situation is, there is someone in a much worse one.

We are not alone.

We were never supposed to be alone.

Let us show the victims of the flood that they are not alone.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

