Switch Off The Microwave

I had intended to write a pleasant, inspiring and ‘feel-good’ article this week – to send you on your way to a jolly Christmas and New Year. Ho ho ho!!

Hmm…..I’m so sorry…. it’s’just …..there’s’an article I wrote many months ago but decided not to post so as not to sound like a grumpy old man.

I really shouldn’t waste it…. should I ????

Naaaa!

Kindly allow me to be a grumpy old man just this once.

Thanks.

Ok, this is going to make me sound sooooo old!!!

But you know what?!!

Who cares?!!!

I had an interesting discussion a while back regarding how programmes like X Factor and The Voice have completely destroyed the music industry during the past decade or so.

I remember the good old days when musicians were musicians; when musicians became famous for what they were – ‘musicians’ – with ‘talent’ – such as the ability to play musical instruments and the ability to actually sing.

In those days some musicians even created their own music!!!!!!!

Shocking!!!!

If someone was called a musician one could safely assume that he or she could sing, write music, or play a musical instrument of some sort.

Unfortunately, due to programmes like X Factor and ‘whatever Idol’ what we have today is manufactured and genetically modified package deals; rather like a conveyor belt belching out drones that are about as real and as natural as… well… ‘microwave meals’.

Is it just me or does every song sound pretty much the same as the last one???

The same beat – more or less the same message – and seriously lacking in any kind of ingenuity!

Am I being harsh???

Maybe I am.

But ask yourself these questions.

When was the last time you heard something truly different???

When was the last time you heard a song that didn’t sound as though it had been packaged or re-packaged???

When was the last time you didn’t feel as though you were somehow being manipulated into like something?????

And the solution is…… don’t ask me!

I haven’t got a clue what the solution is.

I just wanted to have a moan.

Feel so much better now.

Thanks for listening.

I wish you and your loved ones a very happy Christmas, and a safe, joyful, and prosperous New Year.

Now, where’s’my Abba album?

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

