Who You Are

Did you listen to the Queen’s Christmas Day speech?

Was it an absolute gem or what??!!!

It was the first time in a long while that I heard a Head of State speak so openly about Jesus Christ.

She reminded us of the reason we celebrate Christmas; the birth of the son of God – who came to earth to die for our sins – teaching us true life and true love in the process.

To hear a Head of State – a European one at that, speak so openly about Christ, was wonderfully up-lifting.

It was a timely reminder to all believers to be proud of who we are – children of the most high God.

I’m sure you agree with me when I say that mankind has an uncanny ability to make everything about himself / herself.

We are highly skilled in the art of making everything about me, me, and me also.

As we enter a new year my message to you is very simple.

Focus especially on two things.

1. Who you are and what it means

You are a child of the most High God.

This should be reflected in a selfless love for those around you.

-the manner in which you behave

-the manner in which you work

-the manner in which you run your business

2. Honouring God in everything you do – at all times

As a father / mother

As a husband / wife

As an employee

As a business owner

As a brother / sister

As a son / daughter

As a friend

A a neighbour

2012 has been and gone – along with the mistakes, the failings and the mis-givings. The fact that you are alive and reading this article means that His grace has enabled you to give it another go; to try again; to do your best to fulfill God’s’purpose for you.

Knowledge of who you are is so very important.

It enables you to walk with confidence; to know your rights; to know what you can and can’t do; and most importantly to know that you are loved unconditionally by your father in heaven.

A lack of knowledge can lead to awful mistakes, and at times rather awkward moments.

Many many years ago, as a thirteen year old in boarding school in the UK, my lack of knowledge of who I am led to a rather embarassing situation.

Let me give you a little backgroud.

I had attended an all boys’ prep school from the age of seven to thirteen. Hence my knowledge of the female sex was …well… nothing.

Correction – I have two sisters. So I guess I was vaguely aware that the female sex existed.

As I’m sure many of you male readers can relate, by the time I was thirteen the urge to know much more about the female sex was increasing by the second.

So when it came to choosing which secondary school to go to – given the choice between St Edwards, Oxford (all boys school), Cheltenham College (all boys school) and Dean Close School (mixed), the decision was a no-brainer.

Dean Close school – boys AND GIRLS.

Till this day – unless he’s’reading this article, my dad has absolutely no idea why I opted for Dean Close School.

All it took was one look at the pretty girls in the school prospectus and my decision was made.

If you’re reading this dad – sorry – but at least I did wonderfully well. Evenutally anyway.

So – my first year at Dean Close School – a great school by the way – with the best choir in the world, awesome rugby, hockey, and cricket teams; and superb tuition.

Highly recommended.

Just look at me! There’s’no better advert!!

Stop Segs!!!

2012 may have been and gone but Segs still possesses a great knack for wondering off track!!

Back to my first year at Dean Close School.

We used to have PE every tuesday morning.

PE alternated between gym and swimming; one week gym (yipeeee!!) and the following week swimming (boohooo!!!).

I hated swimming.

I would do absolutely anything to avoid swimming.

One Tuesday morning, as I walked back to the house after breakfast, desparately trying to think of a new excuse for missing swimming, I overheard one of my female class mates tell her friend that she wouldn’t be attending the swimming class because she was on her period.

Remember – I was thirteen – had previously attended an all boys’ school and therefore knew zilch about the female anatomy.

‘Aha! Got it. That’s why I can’t attend today’s swimming class’ I thought to myself.

During swimming classes those that were unable to take part were required to sit in the balcony over-looking the pool.

So there I was, sitting in the pool balcony, pleased as punch with myself for finding a new way to escape swimming, when all of a sudden the PE teacher looked up to the balcony, and on seeing me shouted;

“Akande, what are you doing up there? Why aren’t you in the pool?”

“I’m on my period sir,” I replied with absolute confidence.

“You’re what???” he asked, looking both shocked and confused.

“I’m on my period sir,” I replied, resolute in the knowledge that I had a valid and excellent reason to be absent from PE.

By now the whole swimming class was looking up at the balcony in total disbelief.

” Akande!!! You’d’better get yourself in this pool before I come up there and drag you down here myself” he screamed at me – with a mixture of shock, displeasure, and more than a hint of incredulity.

I had no idea why he insisted that I should join the PE class. After-all if the girls on the balcony were allowed to miss swimming because they were on their period then why shouldn’t I be??!!!

As far as I was concerned he was being extremely unfair – just picking on me.

I had to go swimming that day.

I later found out that it was physically impossible for me to be on my period.

My lack of knowledge had landed me in an unenviable situation, to say the least.

Christ died for you – in order for you to have direct access to your father in heaven – who loves you unconditionally.

Walk in the knowledge of who you are

Work in the knowledge of who you are

Relate with people in the knowledge of who you are

Fear not

Worry not

You are a child of the most high God

A God perfect in love

A God perfect in power

Honour Him in all you do

I wish you all the very best for 2013.

I pray that His good and perfect will, and not your will, be done in your life throughout this year.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Who You Are

  1. omobolanlegeorge@gmail.com says:

    Amen! Thanks a lot Segun, i wish you an amazing 2013 too.

    Regards,
    Bola
    Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless handheld from Glo Mobile.

Leave a Reply

