HIM not you

“I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one. I in them and you in me. May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them as you have loved me.”

John 17 vs 22- 23

In John 17 Christ prays for himself – for completing the task at hand, and for God to Glorify Himself through Him.

He then prays for the protection of His disciples, and finally from verses 20 to 23, for unity and love amongst all believers.

From verses 25 to 26 He prays for God’s love to reign in our hearts so that we may love one another like He loves us.

‘Unity’ and ‘Love’

So what happened???

The answer lies in verse 24.

“Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me ….”

Rather than be where Jesus is we spend most of our time where WE want to be – where our hearts and desires are.

For most of the time we are more interested in seeking our own personal glory than we are in allowing God’s glory to be magnified through us – in humilty, love, unity, and selflessness.

Before going any further I need to make it very clear that I’m talking about myself as much as anyone else.

Satan’s aim is to take attention away from Jesus. He despises Jesus. Therefore the last thing he wants is for Jesus to be glorified. So what better way to get at Him than to trick men and women into constantly seeking self glorification and adulation?!

Hence, rather than being where Jesus is we spend most of our time being where we want to be.

What happens as soon as we make it about ‘me’ and ‘you’?

We become self focussed.

– self importance

– self adulation

– fragmentation

– discord

But what happens when we make it all about Jesus?

Our focus turns to helping and encouraging others.

– love

– selflessness

– unity

– peace

Christianity is not about which church you go to or how many hours you fast or pray for.

Christ spent most of His time praying for love and unity amongst His believers.

Christianity is about one thing alone – Jesus Christ.

It is about what He did for us and who we are through Him.

Let us fix our gaze on Jesus and put our energy into encouraging one another in unity, peace, and love.

Leave a Reply

